July 4th not feeling it.

 

13600249_10208633945519348_5084164527374290747_n

The view from the farm. There were cows too!

Happy to have the extra day off today always nice to have a 3 day weekend but to be honest I am not really feeling it. Maybe I need to do something 4th of July like maybe go for a swim in the river or light the grill or maybe do nothing at all which of course is what I am leaning towards. These holidays always make me feel like I dont quite fit in. And to be honest I have spent much of my life making sure I dont fit in its kind of like a self fulfilling prophecy.

Not that this weekend has sucked or anything actually its been pretty great. Saturday was just a me day (introverts you will understand) we did some errands with the dogs along for the ride and then just grilled some food in the backyard while sipping some wine and ready about the middle ages a subject I am obsessed with. I really dont have an explanation for that.

And then yesterday well yesterday was pretty freaking epic. A dear friend from long ago just happens to be about 10 miles up the road visiting a friend of hers from childhood. Now seriously what are the chances? I mean I could see if I live in New Orleans and that happened okay chalk it up to a small world but Cambridge NY in deep upstate? A town of what 2000? Now that’s a small world.

So on Sunday I picked up Dandi from her friends farm deep in the woods near Shushan and I showed her around the village. We had a terrific brunch at the Roundhouse Cafe (omg the bacon) then walked down to the farmers market where we bought great stuff and then I just had to show her the coop where more great stuff was bought and then the bookstore and the village store and then a nice walk down to Jacks outback. It was so nice to be able to share this small town with someone while we caught up on all the years past. And mother nature out did herself it was one of those days oh man you know just one of those days. So nice to know you have a friend nearby.

Today we took a drive with the dogs to Bennington to do some errands and now I am home and at a lost. Just sit here watching the boob tube? Or maybe I will go find my bathing suit and sneak off to the river and go for a dip and read more about the middle ages. I think I will go find that suit. The TV will be here when I get back! Happy 4th everyone however you are feeling it!

 

Leave a comment